archive

categories

contributors

newsletter

  • Click here to sign up for the Morsels for your Mind Library newsletter.
Side banner 1
Side banner 2
Side banner 3
Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory
Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory

“I’m not going to limit myself to condemning corruption and calling for its eradication; I also want to set out . . . a new politics, a different economic model, and the strengthening of cultural, moral, and spiritual values that can revitalize our nation.”

The stunning victory of Andrés Manuel López Obrador (AMLO) in yesterday’s Mexican presidential elections follows a campaign that pledged to tackle corruption, halt privatization of the oil industry, invest in education and infrastructure, open a dialogue with the country’s drug cartels, and oppose Donald Trump’s border wall.

 

Posted in News Tidbits, Non Fiction | by | Comments Off on Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory
divider
A true crime story with a remarkable twist
A true crime story with a remarkable twist

A Lawyer’s Journey through the Historic, Haunting, and Deeply Personal Case of Albert Dyer, the Smiling Monster of Inglewood

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on A true crime story with a remarkable twist
divider
Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible
Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible

Check out the Wall Street Journal  interview with Dr. Gary Small and Gigi Vorgan about their new book  here

Three experts talk about the resilience of people as they age, and how radical change can be achieved

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible
divider
(a poetry book)
(a poetry book)

Grammy nominated singer/songwriter Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo has developed and refined a method of emoting through writing. 2Fish is a collection of intimate poems (and a few short stories) written by Chilombo from adolescence to adulthood, in no particular order. The book details Chilombo’s thoughts in their most raw and honest form taken directly from a collection of notebooks she has kept since age 12.

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on (a poetry book)
divider
The World’s Greatest Superhero!
The World’s Greatest Superhero!

In the vein of Perry Moore’s Hero, Dreadnought is an action-packed Young Adult debut novel of a trans superhero who must face off against a cyborg villain.

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

“I didn’t know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now.”—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

Listed as one of The New York Public Library’s Best Books for Kids and Best Books for Teens 2017!

 

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on The World’s Greatest Superhero!
divider
Exciting News!-The November 2017 Indie Next List Great Reads- #1 Pick: The End We Start From, by Megan Hunter
Exciting News!-The November 2017 Indie Next List Great Reads- #1 Pick: The End We Start From, by Megan Hunter

“As the floodwaters rise on London, a first-time mother takes her newborn son and flees for higher ground, seeking a safe haven from the environmental collapse and the chaos that will follow it.

Luminous and sparse, heartbreaking yet hopeful, The End We Start From is a lyrical rumination on environment, normalcy in the midst of crisis, new motherhood, unavoidable endings, and tentative beginnings.

A slim and stunning debut whose echoes will be thunderous.” —Rebecca Speas, One More Page Books, Arlington, VA

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Exciting News!-The November 2017 Indie Next List Great Reads- #1 Pick: The End We Start From, by Megan Hunter
divider
Historical – Swedish – Strong Female Characters – Hot Men in Kilts – Equals- Steamy Romance
Historical – Swedish – Strong Female Characters – Hot Men in Kilts – Equals- Steamy Romance

As the eighth of 15 children and the eldest unwed daughter, Delilah Canterbury was sent to court to better herself. Instead, she is dismayed to discover that giving her virtue to King James has not earned her any favors. A chance encounter leads to an opportunity to train as a spy. Five years later, Delilah’s first assignment is to impersonate Lady Elizabeth Seymour, so that the real Lady Elizabeth can be married off to Laird MacKenzie. Kaid MacLeod needs a bargaining chip in his clan’s feud against the MacKenzies.

They’ve already killed his father and many of his people. Kaid must figure out how to prevent more bloodshed, and he thinks that kidnapping Lady Elizabeth may be the only way to bring about peace. But he hadn’t bargained on kidnapping an impostor. The attraction between Delilah and Kaid grows during their days spent traveling, but their passion leads to betrayal. Strong female characters and hot men in kilts are almost always a win, and steamy romance and dangerous intrigue make sure of it in the second tale in

Martin’s Mercenary Maidens series, following Highland Spy (2017).

Booklist Online Exclusive: September 27, 2017

— C. L. Quillen

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Historical – Swedish – Strong Female Characters – Hot Men in Kilts – Equals- Steamy Romance
divider
“The things we fear in life often lead to our greatest adventures.” Coyote Peterson
“The things we fear in life often lead to our greatest adventures.” Coyote Peterson

A kid-friendly tour through the wild world of animals led by adventurer Coyote Peterson whose exploits know no bounds- not just lions tigers and bears but deadly snakes, grabby crabs and anything that walks, runs, slithers, flies or swims. Who knew education could be so much fun?

#1 Bookscan in Juvenile Non-fiction

http://bit.ly/DTsomethingHUGE

 

 

 

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on “The things we fear in life often lead to our greatest adventures.” Coyote Peterson
divider
“Part eulogy, part homage, part love-letter, part madcap scrapbook ….
“Part eulogy, part homage, part love-letter, part madcap scrapbook ….

Eileen Myles’ AFTERGLOW (a dog memoir) is off press and headed to bookstores now.  Helen Macdonald author H Is for Hawk has already weigh in calling the book “A truly astonishing creation” and Library Journal (starred review) raved “A rare new breed of dog memoir; think Patti Smith’s Just Kids, not Josh Grogan’s Marley and Me, absinthe not saccharine.” And  Buzzfeed and Elle.com have included AFTERGLOW on their lists of “exciting books you need to read this fall.”

 

“Part eulogy, part homage, part love-letter, part madcap scrapbook . . . Love and loss are replayed and reimagined …… Only Eileen Myles could reinvent the memoir again so stunningly; Afterglow is the sort of multidimensional love story you could only expect from one of our greatest experimental writers living today!” —Porochista Khakpour, author of The Last Illusion and Sick: A Life of Lyme, Love, Illness, and Addiction

 

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on “Part eulogy, part homage, part love-letter, part madcap scrapbook ….
divider
A Fresh and Unflinching Portrait of African American life
A Fresh and Unflinching Portrait of African American life

A moving tale of love and the consequences of American racial disparity spanning three generations of a New Orleans family

“… Sexton delivers a fresh and unflinching portrait of African American life and establishes herself as a new and much-needed voice in literature. Vividly imagined and boldly told, A Kind of Freedom is a book for our time. A fierce and courageous debut.” —Natalie Baszile, author of Queen Sugar

“… [T]his emotionally wrenching, character-rich debut spans three generations in a city deeply impacted by segregation, economic inequality, and racial tensions……In this fine debut, each generation comes with new possibilities and deferred dreams blossoming with the hope that this time, finally, those dreams may come to fruition.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on A Fresh and Unflinching Portrait of African American life
divider

Privacy Policy