archive

categories

contributors

newsletter

  • Click here to sign up for the PBG Library newsletter.
Side banner 1
Side banner 2
Side banner 3
Side banner 4

Have you heard about Charlie….

Have you heard about Charlie….

What they are saying on the Internet:“Realistically edgy and humorously dysfunctional”. I agree wholeheartedly.” –          TeenLibrariansToolbox.com

“I am here to tell you that The Downside of Being Charlieby Jenny Torres Sanchez is a really well written, thought provoking contemporary ya novel that reminds me of one of my favorite authors, Chris Crutcher…Jenny writes with wit and insight to help you along the journey that is The Downside of Being Charlie…Like the works of Chris Crutcher and other contemporary YA authors, Charlie is a relatable and discussable read.  And like those authors, Sanchez creates realistic teen characters, which in this case includes some harsh (though authentic) language and one bullying incident that involves marijuana.  This is a great debut novel and I look forward to reading more by Sanchez; she really captured the lives of teens and wrote a story that is compelling and moving.  She used to be a high school teacher which really shows in her writing – she gets teens.

The ya market has been dominated by fantasy and paranormal romance these last few years (which I don’t mind at all), but this year it seems like there is a real renaissance of the cotemporary ya novel.  The year kicked off with the wonderful The Fault in Our Starsby John Green, and I believe this will be one of those contemporary novels that will be a part of the renaissance.  Fans of Chris Crutcher, Sarah Dessen and John Green will appreciate The Downside of Being Charlie. Highly recommended.

Full review: http://www.teenlibrarianstoolbox.blogspot.com/2012/02/book-review-downside-of-being-charlie.html#more 

“An honest portrayal of an earnestly confused teen boy . . . a story that is both heartbreaking and hopeful at the same time.” —David Yoo, author of The Detention Club and Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before

Gina’s review on goodreads. http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/274748064

Learn more about author Jenny Torres Sanchez at her website-http://www.jennytorressanchez.com/Home.html

This entry was posted in News Tidbits. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.