archive

categories

contributors

newsletter

  • Click here to sign up for the Morsels for your Mind Library newsletter.
Side banner 1
Side banner 2
Side banner 3
Bound by Cultural Expectations…
Bound by Cultural Expectations…
Two Zapatista women, bound by cultural expectations, struggle to express the truth of their lives in the highlands of Chiapas.

When a woman rises, a community is nourished. In the Maya township of Chenalhó in Chiapas, Veronica, a teenage girl, is recovering from a disastrous early marriage. Spurred on by a community program of women telling their stories, she asks her mother Magdalena to record the story of her growing up and that of her best friend, Lucia.

 Highlighted in School Library Journal  list of “September Stars” https://slj.com/?detailStory=50-Spectacular-Titles-September-2018-Stars

 

Posted in Fiction, News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Bound by Cultural Expectations…
divider
Searching for a sense of identity and belonging…
Searching for a sense of identity and belonging…

This is a beautifully written story about a child searching for a sense of identity and belonging, by debut picture-book author Francie Latour. Illustrator Ken Daley has drawn on his knowledge of the Caribbean to create vibrant paintings that convey the flavor of life in Haiti. With a brief introduction to the history of Haiti, including a few of its heroes.

Highlighted in School Library Journal list of September Stars. https://slj.com/?detailStory=50-Spectacular-Titles-September-2018-Stars 

 

Posted in Fiction, Mini Pretzels | by | Comments Off on Searching for a sense of identity and belonging…
divider
Unique Magical Powers
Unique Magical Powers

A WINTER’S PROMISE

* Starred review from School Library Journal and was highlighted on their list of “September Stars” https://slj.com/?detailStory=50-Spectacular-Titles-September-2018-Stars!!! “Translated from French, this international best-seller is world-building at its best. The unusual settings, original characters, dark intrigue, originality, and fast-moving plot result in a book that leaves readers eagerly awaiting the next volume. It has great adult crossover as the characters and situations cross age levels. ”

Posted in Fiction, Mini Pretzels, Reviews | by | Comments Off on Unique Magical Powers
divider
LIZA JANE & THE DRAGON
LIZA JANE & THE DRAGON

Liza Jane believed she could find better parents. So she fired her mom and dad and hired the first applicant who came to the door–what could possibly go wrong?

“A girl frustrated with her parents’ rules fires them and hires a dragon to take their place.”
Publishers Weekly, Fall 2018 Announcements

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on LIZA JANE & THE DRAGON
divider
Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs (Vol. 1 & 2)
Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs (Vol. 1 & 2)

In June of 2017, an international group of specialists in ethnopharmacology, chemistry, botany, psychology, and anthropology met to discuss their findings of the last fifty years and assess the potential future for investigations into traditional plant-based medicines. The Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs is the defining scholarly publication on both past and current research with psychotropic plant substances for medicinal, therapeutic, and spiritual uses.

 

A defining scholarly publication on the past and current state of research with psychedelic plant substances for medicine, therapeutics, and spiritual uses

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs (Vol. 1 & 2)
divider
Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory
Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory

“I’m not going to limit myself to condemning corruption and calling for its eradication; I also want to set out . . . a new politics, a different economic model, and the strengthening of cultural, moral, and spiritual values that can revitalize our nation.”

The stunning victory of Andrés Manuel López Obrador (AMLO) in yesterday’s Mexican presidential elections follows a campaign that pledged to tackle corruption, halt privatization of the oil industry, invest in education and infrastructure, open a dialogue with the country’s drug cartels, and oppose Donald Trump’s border wall.

 

Posted in News Tidbits, Non Fiction | by | Comments Off on Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory
divider
A true crime story with a remarkable twist
A true crime story with a remarkable twist

A Lawyer’s Journey through the Historic, Haunting, and Deeply Personal Case of Albert Dyer, the Smiling Monster of Inglewood

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on A true crime story with a remarkable twist
divider
Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible
Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible

Check out the Wall Street Journal  interview with Dr. Gary Small and Gigi Vorgan about their new book  here

Three experts talk about the resilience of people as they age, and how radical change can be achieved

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible
divider
(a poetry book)
(a poetry book)

Grammy nominated singer/songwriter Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo has developed and refined a method of emoting through writing. 2Fish is a collection of intimate poems (and a few short stories) written by Chilombo from adolescence to adulthood, in no particular order. The book details Chilombo’s thoughts in their most raw and honest form taken directly from a collection of notebooks she has kept since age 12.

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on (a poetry book)
divider
The World’s Greatest Superhero!
The World’s Greatest Superhero!

In the vein of Perry Moore’s Hero, Dreadnought is an action-packed Young Adult debut novel of a trans superhero who must face off against a cyborg villain.

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

“I didn’t know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now.”—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

Listed as one of The New York Public Library’s Best Books for Kids and Best Books for Teens 2017!

 

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on The World’s Greatest Superhero!
divider

Privacy Policy