archive

categories

contributors

newsletter

  • Click here to sign up for the Morsels for your Mind Library newsletter.
Side banner 1
Side banner 2
Side banner 3

Category Archives: News Tidbits

Bound by Cultural Expectations…
Bound by Cultural Expectations…

Two Zapatista women, bound by cultural expectations, struggle to express the truth of their lives in the highlands of Chiapas. When a woman rises, a community is nourished. In the Maya township of Chenalhó in Chiapas, Veronica, a teenage girl, … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, News Tidbits | by | Leave a comment
divider
Searching for a sense of identity and belonging…
Searching for a sense of identity and belonging…

This is a beautifully written story about a child searching for a sense of identity and belonging, by debut picture-book author Francie Latour. Illustrator Ken Daley has drawn on his knowledge of the Caribbean to create vibrant paintings that convey … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Mini Pretzels | by | Leave a comment
divider
Unique Magical Powers
Unique Magical Powers

A WINTER’S PROMISE * Starred review from School Library Journal and was highlighted on their list of “September Stars” https://slj.com/?detailStory=50-Spectacular-Titles-September-2018-Stars!!! “Translated from French, this international best-seller is world-building at its best. The unusual settings, original characters, dark intrigue, originality, and … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Mini Pretzels, Reviews | by | Leave a comment
divider
LIZA JANE & THE DRAGON
LIZA JANE & THE DRAGON

Liza Jane believed she could find better parents. So she fired her mom and dad and hired the first applicant who came to the door–what could possibly go wrong? “A girl frustrated with her parents’ rules fires them and hires … Continue reading

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Leave a comment
divider
Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs (Vol. 1 & 2)
Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs (Vol. 1 & 2)

In June of 2017, an international group of specialists in ethnopharmacology, chemistry, botany, psychology, and anthropology met to discuss their findings of the last fifty years and assess the potential future for investigations into traditional plant-based medicines. The Ethnopharmacologic Search … Continue reading

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Ethnopharmacologic Search for Psychoactive Drugs (Vol. 1 & 2)
divider
Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory
Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory

“I’m not going to limit myself to condemning corruption and calling for its eradication; I also want to set out . . . a new politics, a different economic model, and the strengthening of cultural, moral, and spiritual values that … Continue reading

Posted in News Tidbits, Non Fiction | by | Comments Off on Mexico’s’ Presidential Election & Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s Stunning Victory
divider
A true crime story with a remarkable twist
A true crime story with a remarkable twist

A Lawyer’s Journey through the Historic, Haunting, and Deeply Personal Case of Albert Dyer, the Smiling Monster of Inglewood

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on A true crime story with a remarkable twist
divider
Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible
Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible

Check out the Wall Street Journal  interview with Dr. Gary Small and Gigi Vorgan about their new book  here Three experts talk about the resilience of people as they age, and how radical change can be achieved

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on Change Your Personality Later in Life? Yes, It Is Possible
divider
(a poetry book)
(a poetry book)

Grammy nominated singer/songwriter Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo has developed and refined a method of emoting through writing. 2Fish is a collection of intimate poems (and a few short stories) written by Chilombo from adolescence to adulthood, in no particular order. … Continue reading

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on (a poetry book)
divider
The World’s Greatest Superhero!
The World’s Greatest Superhero!

In the vein of Perry Moore’s Hero, Dreadnought is an action-packed Young Adult debut novel of a trans superhero who must face off against a cyborg villain. An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your … Continue reading

Posted in News Tidbits | by | Comments Off on The World’s Greatest Superhero!
divider

Privacy Policy